A big Thank You to the West Fife Village Adult Learners

I feel very luck to have worked with the Adult Learners in the West Fife Village so I was very grateful when they gave me a present when I left for my massive jolly. I’ve always wanted to go to the Australian Open so I used the present for my ticket. 

Image

 

I was also very glad that my boyfriend Diem was in Australia at the time of the Open so we could go together. 

Our seats were excellent in the middle of the court with a brilliant view. First match was a ladies game:

I. Begu v A. Radwanska (number 4 seed)  Seeding is a way of laying out who plays who in a tournament, here is a link that will explain it better. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Seed_(sports)

Image

Radwanska (on the right) was the winner 6-3 6-3. I really enjoyed my first live professional game of tennis.

Next it was the men’s turn to entertain us:

G. Refin v T. Berdych (number 5 seed)

Image

Again the seeded player won, Berdych (on the right) 6-2 6-2.

After the second game, we’d had too much sun and needed to stretch our legs so we walked to the practice courts in search of some shade. We were lucky enough to see Roger Federer, sadly not my boy Andy Murray, but we were still really happy with Roger.

 Image

The practice courts are brilliant because you can see so many more people playing even if it’s not a full game it’s really exciting.

we also saw a young girl from the UK, Laura Robson who was Andy Murray’s doubles partner in their Olympic gold medal match in which they won silver. Keep an eye out for her, I think she will be really big very soon.

Image

But after our rest the best was yet to come. First evening match V Williams (25th seed) v A Cornet

Image

 

A. Cornet

Image

 

V Williams, the victor 6-3 6-3.

Finally our last match featured the World Number 1 player and the Champion of the Open- Novak Djokovic. He was playing a bit of a wild card Ryan Harrison, so it wasn’t exactly a challenging match but Harrison hit some blinders and didn’t give up. He improved with each set and you could see he was feeling more relaxed on the centre court against the World Number 1.

Image

Ryan Harrison for those who haven’t seen him before.

Image

 

Image

Djokovic won 6-1 6-2 6-3.

As much as I would have loved to see Andy Murray win the Australian Open and I am still pretty chuffed that in 2013 I saw the winner of the Australian Open play live.

Thank you again to the brilliant learners. Keep working hard, it’s all worth it!!! I look forward to catching up with some of you again in April!

Image